European Union

The European Union guarantees the peace, stability and prosperity of its citizens and member states. In a globalised world, it defends our interests. Together, we can go much further.

In Brussels our governments and representatives in the European Parliament adopt decisions on extremely varied matters: the economy, social affairs, the environment and security. These decisions affect the daily lives of 500 million people in 28 countries. The European Union takes an interest in all of us.

Spain is a member of the European Union, like other member countries, and has transferred economic and political competences to the European Union. Our Constitution expressly set out this possibility. Important at present are the coordination of economic policies in the European semester and the role of the European Central Bank.

The main European Union institutions are:

  • The European Council is presided over by the EU president and made up of the member states' heads of state or government. It establishes general political direction and priorities of the EU.
  • The Commission represents the interests of the EU
  • The Council of the European Union represents the interests of the executive governments of EU member states. It is made up of national ministers.
  • The European Parliament: Represents the interests of European citizens.
  • The Court of Justice of the European Union: guarantees the application of community law, resolving specific disputes and preliminary rulings.
  • European Central Bank: responsible for currency and monetary exchange policy and supervision of the financial system. It acts with independence.
  • Other institutions: Ombudsman, European Court of Auditors, Economic and Social Committee. Committee of the Regions, European Data Protection Supervisor.

The European Union External Action Service is also important.

More information

Go to top