Government institutions

A general framework of our coexistence system is outlined in the section on the Political System. Spain is a democratic government under the rule of law and well-being, with a market economy.

Do you know the state institutions? Do you know their functions? It is important that you know that their decisions affect all citizens and the country's economic and social development.

In Spain a constitutional monarchy was established. The government system is based on national sovereignty, the division of powers and a parliamentary system. It is a parliamentary system due to the central role that the legislative power or parliament has.

National sovereignty belongs to the Spanish people, that is, all citizens own public power and legislative, executive and judicial powers are derived from public power.

Citizens participate in public affairs via representatives who are chosen in free universal, secret and plural elections. Citizens also participate in public affairs directly, in cases set out in rules, for example: popular legislative initiative, holding public office, exercising the right to petition, voting in referendum and participating in consultations, among others.

The division of powers involves attributing the exercise of different methods of political power - legislative, executive and judicial - to different institutions. This division is not absolute, as there are relationships, balances and reciprocal controls between the different institutions. Different institutions sometimes need to collaborate with each other, while others work independently or supervise other institutions. This organisation of the institutions is very significant; it avoids the abuse of power.

Now we will list the institutions and the relationships between them: